How to Update Files in Google Drive Without Changing the Link?

How to Update Files in Google Drive Without Changing the Link?

Learn how to replace an existing file with a new and updated version in Google Drive, without changing the file’s share link.

John uploaded a PDF file to Google Drive and shared it with Peter. A week later, John updated the PDF file and uploaded a new version to Google Drive. Peter, however, still has a link to the old version and John would have to send another email to give him new edition information. Confused, right?

How to Update Files in Google Drive Without Changing the Link?
How to Update Files in Google Drive Without Changing the Link?

You’ve probably gone through this situation where you have several copies of the same file in the Google Drive and, while you all want to use the latest version, they either do not know that the file has been updated. Or it takes too much work to find out in the drive.

You may read – Open Google Cached Pages Instantly in Chrome

When you have several copies of the same file in the drive, it not only creates confusion, but files also carry valuable storage space in your drive. Would not it be easy if you can easily replace an existing file in Google Drive with a newer version instead of uploading it as a separate file? Well, one solution is:

Modify files in Google Drive

  1. Go to your Google Drive and select the file you want to update. This is applicable for files that are not in the original Google Docs format such as PDF, images, text files or even video.
  2. Right-click the file, select Manage Versions from the menu, and then click the Upload new version button to upload the updated file to your Google Drive.
  3. That’s it. The file name and file URL will not change, and thus all the old shared links will now automatically point to the new version of your file.

You can use the same method to replace the file in one format with another format. For example, if you have a video file in the drive that you want to replace with a small file size GIF animation, then Manage Versions Version moves. And the shared link will not change either.

You may read – How to Work Offline in Google Chrome?

Things for Dropbox users are a bit easier. If you want to update the shared file in Dropbox but without changing the link, simply upload a new version of the file in the same Dropbox folder.

When you upload a file to the Dropbox and another file with the same name already exists, then the dropbox will simply replace the old file with the new one while the shared link will continue to work. In the case of Google Drive, you can have multiple files in one folder and therefore confusion with the same name.

Shares 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *